Skip to content

Seminars

Tropical Conservation Biology and Environmental Science - M.S. Program

Weekly Seminar Schedule

Date Speaker Title Email address AFFILIATION
21-Aug Amy Saxton Introduction to Library Resources saxton@hawaii.edu UH Hilo Mo'okini Library
28-Aug Huihui Kanahele-Mossman O pihapiha. Where does the water go and where it came from, an brief look at Native Hawaiian ancestral Hydrology hkanahel@hawaii.edu UH Hilo Kipuka
4-Sep HOLIDAY
11-Sep Matt Knope Ecology, evolution, and conservation of Hawaiian Asteraceae knope@hawaii.edu UH Hilo Biology
18-Sep Michael Shintaku Developing genetic tools for the protection and preservation of kalo mhshintaku@gmail.com UH Hilo CAFNRM
25-Sep Grant finding
2-Oct Chris Niebuhr TBD [wildlife disease ecology] cniebuhr@gmail.com USDA
9-Oct Becky Ostertag Restoration ostertag@hawaii.edu UH Hilo Biology
16-Oct Salma Arous TBD [ metagenomics]
23-Oct Carter Atkinson Rapid detection methods and environmental sampling for the fungi that cause Rapid Ohia Death catkinson@usgs.gov USGS
30-Oct Kristina Paxton TBD [bird song or migration or disease] kristina.paxton@gmail.com UH Hilo TCBES
6-Nov Alison Greggor TBD [birds, probably alala] AGreggor@sandiegozoo.org Institute for Conservation Research, San Diego Zoo Global
13-Nov Martin Helmkampf TBD
20-Nov Chad Wiggins TBD TNC
27-Nov Stephani Yelenik Multi-trophic drivers of understory regeneration in restored koa forest syelenik@usgs.gov USGS
4-Dec Evan Rehm Bird/plant interactions in Guam/Saipan OR ecology of treeline in Peru

Michael Shintaku Matthew Knope- September 11th 2017 Huihui Kanahele-Mossman-August 28th 2017


Details of past seminars can be found in our Archived Seminars section