Skip to content

Seminars

Tropical Conservation Biology and Environmental Science - M.S. Program

Next Seminar

Wiggins

Weekly Seminar Schedule

Date Speaker Title Email address AFFILIATION
21-Aug Amy Saxton Introduction to Library Resources saxton@hawaii.edu UH Hilo Mo'okini Library
28-Aug Huihui Kanahele-Mossman O pihapiha. Where does the water go and where it came from, an brief look at Native Hawaiian ancestral Hydrology hkanahel@hawaii.edu UH Hilo Kipuka
4-Sep HOLIDAY
11-Sep Matt Knope Ecology, evolution, and conservation of Hawaiian Asteraceae knope@hawaii.edu UH Hilo Biology
18-Sep Michael Shintaku Developing genetic tools for the protection and preservation of kalo mhshintaku@gmail.com UH Hilo CAFNRM
25-Sep Grant finding
2-Oct Chris Niebuhr Avian malaria transmission dynamics: a New Zealand perspective cniebuhr@gmail.com USDA
9-Oct Becky Ostertag Restoration of Hawaiian lowland wet forest using a hybrid ecosystem approach ostertag@hawaii.edu UH Hilo Biology
16-Oct Salma Arous Potyviruses detection strategies / new viruses detection via metagenomics salma.arous@ufl.edu
23-Oct Carter Atkinson Rapid detection methods and environmental sampling for the fungi that cause Rapid Ohia Death catkinson@usgs.gov USGS
30-Oct Kristina Paxton Loss of cultural diversity in native Hawaiian birds kristina.paxton@gmail.com UH Hilo TCBES
6-Nov Alison Greggor Using animal behavior and learning as conservation tools AGreggor@sandiegozoo.org Institute for Conservation Research, San Diego Zoo Global
13-Nov Martin Helmkampf The origin, phylogeny, and cultivation history of Hawaiian taros: a genome-wide SNP analysis mhelmkam@hawaii.edu UH Hilo
20-Nov Chad Wiggins How science stole my dream job and gave me a better one – from zeros to heroes for coral reefs in West Hawai‘i cwiggins@tnc.org TNC
27-Nov Stephanie Yelenik Multi-trophic drivers of understory regeneration in restored koa forest syelenik@usgs.gov USGS
4-Dec Evan Rehm Rewildling a tropical island: lost frugivores and seed dispersal on Guam emrehm@gmail.com UC Santa Barbara

Past Seminars

Helmkampf Paxton Atkinson Salma Arous


Details of past seminars can be found in our Archived Seminars section