M.S. in Tropical Conservation Biology and Environmental Science

Affiliate and Adjunct Faculty

TCBES has many members of the conservation community that are non-compensated hires by University of Hawai'i at Hilo listed as Affiliate (non-teaching) or Adjunct (teaching) faculty. These faculty serve on graduate committees, occasionally teach graduate courses, seminars or workshops, write grants, and can co-chair graduate committees with a UH Hilo faculty member. Those on this list have gone through the hiring process for academic year 2017-2018 are listed below. Others are going through the HR process and will be added to this list once completed.

  • Ms. Pelika Andrade
    Affiliation: Extension Agent, Sea Grant, University of Hawaii
  • Dr. M. Renee Bellinger
    Affiliation: Bioinformatics/Genomics Post-doctoral Fellow, University of Hawaii Hilo
  • Mr. David M. Benitez
    Affiliation: Ecologist (GS-11), Resource Management Division, National Park Service/HVNP
  • Dr. Susan Cordell
    Affiliation: Plant Physiological Ecologist, USDA Forest Service, Institute of Pacific Islands Forestry
  • Dr. Charles H. Fletcher, III
    Affiliation: Professor, Associate Dean, Academic Affairs, School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology (SOEST), University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Dr. Sarah R. Fritts
    Affiliation: Assistant Professor, Department of Biology, Texas State University
  • Dr. Jennifer Funk
    Affiliation: Associate Professor, Schmid College of Science and Technology, Chapman University
  • Dr. Scott M. Geib
    Affiliation: Research Entomologist, USDA-ARS
  • Dr. Christian Giardina
    Affiliation: Research Ecologist, USDA Forest Service, Institute of Pacific Islands Forestry
  • Dr. Timothy Grabowski
    Affiliation: U.S Geological Survey, Hawaii Cooperative Fishery Research Unit and University of Hawaii at Hilo Department of Marine Science
  • Dr. Alexandra Hanlon
    Affiliation: Research Professor of Nursing, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing
  • Dr. Christopher T. Hawkins
    Affiliation: Marine Ecosystem Social Scientist, Western Pacific Fishery Management Council
  • Ms. Tara Holitzki
    Affiliation: Analytical Lab Manager, UH Hilo
  • Dr. Nicole A. Hynson
    Affiliation: Associate Professor, Pacific Biosciences Research Center, UH Manoa
  • Dr. Lisa Keith
    Affiliation: Research Plant Pathologist, USDA-ARS
  • Dr. Jonathan B. Koch
    Affiliation: NSF Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Hawaii at Hilo
  • Dr. Randall Kosaki
    Affiliation: Pahahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • Dr. Nicholas C. Manoukis
    Affiliation: Supervisory Research Biologist, USDA-ARS
  • Dr. Lisa Marrack
    Affiliation: Science Teacher, Santa Catalina School, Monterey CA, Visiting Instructor UC Berkeley, CA
  • Mr. Bryce Masuda
    Affiliation: Conservation Program Manager, San Diego Zoo Global, Hawaii Endangered Bird Program
  • Dr. William Mautz
    Affiliation: Emeritus Professor of Biology, University of Hawaii at Hilo
  • Mr. Blake McNaughton
    Affiliation: Curriculum Developer, Kamehameha Schools, Kumuola Marine Science Education Center
  • Dr. Lisa Muehlstein
    Affiliation: Department of Marine Science, University of Hawaii at Hilo
  • Dr. Elliott Parsons
    Affiliation: Natural Area Reserves Specialist, IV Division of Forestry and Wildlife
  • Dr. Eben Paxton
    Affiliation: USGS Pacific Island Ecosystems Research Center
  • Dr. Kristina L. Paxton
    Affiliation: Adjunct Assistant Professor, University of Hawaii Hilo
  • Dr. Bryan C. Pijanowski
    Affiliation: Professor, Department of Forestry and Natural Resources, Purdue University
  • Dr. Donald K. Price
    Affiliation: Director and Professor, School of Life Sciences at University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Dr. Noelani P. Puniwai
    Affiliation: Assistant Professor, Kamakakuokaliani Center for Hawaiian Studies, University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Dr. Floyd Reed
    Affiliation: Associate Professor, Department of Biology, University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Ms. Shauna K. Springer
    Affiliation: Coastal Community Capacity Development Advisor, Conservation International
  • Dr. Elizabeth Stacy
    Affiliation: Associate Professor, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Mr. Barry Stieglitz
    Affiliation: Retired, US Fish and Wildlife Servive, Pacific Islands Refuges and Monuments Office
  • Dr. Alison K. Stimpert
    Affiliation: Research Faculty, Bioacoustics and Behavioral Ecology, Moss Landing Marine Laboratories
  • Dr. Ayron M. Strauch
    Affiliation: Hydrologist, Commission on Water Resource Management, State of Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources
  • Dr. Misaki Takabayashi
    Affiliation: Dean of Graduate Student Affairs, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology
  • Ms. Anne Veillet
    Affiliation: Research Technician, University of Idaho
  • Ms. Sharon Ziegler-Chong
    Affiliation: Research and Community Partnerships, University of Hawaii Hilo