Skip to content

TCBES Faculty


Norman Arancon normanq@hawaii.edu

Photo of Norman Aracon

Associate Professor, CAFNRM

Research Interests
Vermicomposting, composting, soil ecology, organic agriculture, tropical fruit crop production, sustainable agriculture

Jon Awaya awayaj@hawaii.edu

Jon Awaya
Associate Professor, Biology

Research Interests
Molecular microbiology, bioremediation, iron-trafficking pathways, secondary metabolite production

Celia T. Bardwell-Jones celiab@hawaii.edu

Celia Bardwell-Jones
Chair, Associate Professor of Philosophy
Director, Gender and Women's Studies Program

Research Interests
Ethics/Social and Political Philosophy, race, gender and indigenous thought, Environmental Philosophy

Jim Beets beets@hawaii.edu

Jim Beets
Professor, Marine Science

Research Interests
Marine ecology, fish/fisheries ecology, ecological monitoring

Kathryn Besio besio@hawaii.edu

Kathryn Besio
Professor, Geography & Environmental Science

Research Interests
Cultural geography, tourism, nature-society relations

Leng Chee Chang lengchee@hawaii.edu

Leng Chee Chang
Associate Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences

Research Interests
Isolation, characterization, and biological evaluation of natural products of marine and microbial origin

Steven Colbert colberts@hawaii.edu

Steven Colbert
Associate Professor, Marine Science

Research Interests
Coastal hydrology, carbonate chemistry

Marta de Maintenon demainte@hawaii.edu

Marta de Maintenon
Professor, Marine Science

Research Interests
Phylogeny, biogeography and evolution of gastropod molluscs

Jesse Eiben eiben@hawaii.edu

Jesse Eiben
Assistant Professor, CAFNRM

Research Interests
Insect taxonomy, insect phylogenetics, population and growth modeling, integrated pest management, survivorship analysis, biodiversity statistics

Armando Garcia-Ortega agarciao@hawaii.edu

Armando Garcia-Ortega
Assistant Professor, CAFNRM

Research Interests
Aquaculture of local marine fish species

Joseph Genz genz@hawaii.edu

Joseph Genz
Assistant Professor

Research Interests
Cultural revitalization of voyaging and navigation

Timothy Grabowski tbg@hawaii.edu

Timothy grawboski
Unit Leader, Hawaii Cooperative Fishery Research Unit
Adjunct Associate Professor, Marine Science

Research Interests
Fish ecology, fisheries management and conservation, fish reproduction and early life history, behavioral ecology, aquatic landscape ecology

Mazen Hamad mazen@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, Chemistry

Research Interests
Environmental Analytical Chemistry

Chemistry website

Patrick Hart pjhart@hawaii.edu

Photo of Pat Hart
Associate Director TCBES Graduate Program Professor & Chair, Biology

Research Interests
Ecology and conservation-Hawaiian forests/forest birds

Maria Haws haws@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, CAFNRM
Director, Pacific Aquaculture & Coastal Resources Center
Extension Specialist, University of Hawai‘i Sea Grant Program

Research Interests
Pearl research, aquaculture, marine invertebrates, coastal zone management, natural resources policy

Kevin Hopkins hopkins@hawaii.edu

Kevin Hopkins
Professor, CAFNRM

Research Interests
Aquaculture and fisheries development including their environmental impacts

Susan Jarvi jarvi@hawaii.edu

Sue Jarvi
Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences

Research Interests
Host-parasite co-evolution, avian disease systems

Marina Karides mkarides@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, Sociology

Research Interests
Island studies, economic development, and food systems, global and feminist sociology, qualitative research methodologies

Sociology website

Matthew Knope knope@hawaii.edu

Matthew Knope
Assistant Professor, Biology
Research Interests
Evolutionary ecology of marine and terrestrial organisms

Yiqing Li yiqing@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, CAFNRM

Research Interests
Forest soil ecology, carbon sequestration of tropical forests, tropical silviculture and forest ecosystem restoration

Chris Lu chrislu@hawaii.edu

Professor, CAFNRM

Research Interests
Ruminant nutrition

Steven Lundblad slundbla@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, Geology

Research Interests
Sedimentary Geology, Geochemistry, Geoarchaeology

Bruce Mathews bmathews@hawaii.edu

Bruce Mathews
Professor & Interim Dean, CAFNRM
Research Interests
Environmental agronomy, nutrient cycling, water quality, grassland management

Sarah Marusek marusek@hawaii.edu

Sarah Marusek
Associate Professor & Chair, Political Science
Research Interests
Legal geography; legal semiotics; everyday jurisprudence; law and society

William Mautz mautz@hawaii.edu

William Mautz
Professor, Biology
Research Interests
Environmental toxicology, physiological ecology of reptiles and amphibians

Karla McDermid mcdermid@hawaii.edu

Karla McDermid
Professor, Marine Science
Research Interests
Seaweed/seagrass taxonomy, ecology, biogeography, chemistry; and herbivory

Jon-Pierre Michaud jonpierr@hawaii.edu

Associate Professor, Chemistry

Research Interests
Toxicology, environmental chemistry, pesticides in water and biota, epidemiology of volcanic fog (vog)

Jene Michaud jene@hawaii.edu

Jene Michaud
Professor, Geology
Research Interests
Hydrology, watersheds, geomorphology, modeling

Peter Mills millsp@hawaii.edu

Peter Mills
Professor of Anthropology
Research Interests
Director Heritage Management Graduate Program, Archaeology, historic archaeology

Cam Muir cmuir@hawaii.edu

Cam Muir

Associate Professor, Biology
Research Interests
Ecological genetics/conservation genetics, phylogeography, and local adaptation of endemic Hawaiian fauna

Stan Nakanishi stn@hawaii.edu

Stan Nakanishi
Assistant Professor, Biology
Research Interests
Neuromodulation, lāʻau lapaʻau (medicinal Hawaiian plants)

Rebecca Ostertag ostertag@hawaii.edu

Rebecca Ostertag
Director TCBES Graduate Program
Professor, Biology
Research Interests
Plant community dynamics, nutrient cycling, restoration of tropical forest ecosystems

Adam Pack pack@hawaii.edu

Adam Pack
Associate Professor, Psychology and Biology
Research Interests
Marine mammal behavior, humpback whales, dolphin behavior and cognition

Ryan Perroy rperroy@hawaii.edu

Ryan Perroy

Assistant Professor, Geography and Environmental Science
Research Interests
Exploring land degradation and recovery processes, such as erosion and invasive species, using lidar, remote sensing, X-ray fluorescence, and traditional field methods

Matt Platz mplatz@hawaii.edu

Matt Platz
Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D Yale University, Chemistry

Research Interests
Photochemistry, photobiolopgy, photomedicine, organic chemistry, green chemistry

Jonathan Price jpprice@hawaii.edu

Jonathan Price
Associate Professor & Chair, Geography & Environmental Science

Research Interests
Biogeography and landscape/vegetation ecology

Michael Shintaku shintaku@hawaii.edu

Professor, CAFNRM

Research Interests
Plant virology

Shihwu Sung sung45@hawaii.edu

Professor, CAFNRM

Research Interests
Applied Environmental Engineering

Jolene Sutton jtsutton@hawaii.edu

Jolene Sutton
Assistant Professor, Biology
Research Interests
Molecular ecology, population and conservation genetics, genetic engineering, genetic pest management

Misaki Takabayashi misakita@hawaii.edu

Misaki Takabayashi
Professor, Marine Science
Research Interests
Coral reef ecology, coral molecular biology, marine microbial molecular biology

Li Tao ltao2@hawaii.edu

Li Tao

Assistant Professor, Biology
Research Interests
Regulation of cell division using a combination of biochemistry, molecular biology and cell biology

Jason Turner jpturner@hawaii.edu

Jason Turner

Associate Professor, Marine Science
Research Interests
Marine ecology, trophic dynamics of food webs, biochemical tracers

Tracy Wiegner wiegner@hawaii.edu

Tracy Wiegner

Professor, Marine Science
Research Interests
Freshwater and coastal water quality, nutrient and organic matter cycling, microbial processes